Crystal

by phoolishdreamer

I had with me a crystal ball
In which I stored my dreams.
Little and large, small and superb,
They all resided in my orb and gleamed.

Dreams of my youth, of flights of fancy,
No idea too big or spanned,
I planted my dreams into my crystal globe
And nurtured them for hopes planned.

I met someone who caught my eye,
Someone worthy of a place in my crystal sphere.
I let them close, into my crystal space,
So close and so near with no fear.

I shared with them my crystal heart,
To gander and to compound.
But they released it from their slippery hands
And let it shatter on the ground.

They left me with my crystal shards,
Kneeling at my heart’s demise.
My bleeding hands tried to re-piece my desires
Amidst my agonizing cries.

I held my dreams in my sanguine palms,
Tearless for my broken wares.
I heaved from my chest a sigh of defeat,
And my dreams drifted into the airs.

As I saw my feathery remnants float into space,
A smile appeared upon my face;
For now my dreams are not just mine,
But for all of the human race.

