Use Your Head

by phoolishdreamer

Son,

First, I want you to know that I love you. I wouldn’t force anything on you or tell you not to do something unless I knew you were really going to hurt yourself. This is one of those times.

It’s gotten to be quite concerning hearing about you doing dangerous things. I can understand the skateboarding and playing with fire. It may be hard to tell, but your old man used to be able to take the half-pipe pretty aggressively. (There’s a reason why I can’t do it anymore.) That’s all fine and well, but your mom told me that you were experimenting with drugs.

Now, I don’t know what exactly you’re smoking or shooting, but I’m just going to assume it’s heroine. Whenever I think of the worst, I always think of heroine. Or LSD. Either way, I’m going to put my father foot down and ask you not to do it anymore. It really is dangerous, and I’ve seen plenty of friends throw their lives away because they got addicted, or worse.

You’d probably argue that it’s your life, and you choose what to do with it. I won’t argue against that, but while you’re living in my house, you will live by my rules. Your following those rules means you have a roof over your head, a bed to sleep in, electricity for all your video games, food in your stomach and a couch for you and your weird theatre girlfriend to make out on. This is one thing I’m really asking of you, and if you can’t do that, then I need you to leave.

I need you to leave because I care about your younger siblings, because I care about your mother. I cannot have you tweaking in this house because you endanger those around you. Most of all, I need you to leave so that you don’t hurt yourself.

What I mean is that I will take you to a treatment center, hospital or police station, whichever comes first. This isn’t the road you want to take, though. I can guarantee that you will find yourself in even worse pain sobering up, or scared out of your mind by people who are already too far along into drug abuse. I have bailed out or buried too many friends who just wanted to get high and have a good time, and the last thing I ever want to do, I never want to do, is bury my son.

Please rethink this, son. Please make the right decision. I love you.

Love,

Dad

