Obstacles

by phoolishdreamer

Son,

I heard from your mother that you didn’t go to school today. When I asked why, she mentioned that Tommy Hadford was bullying you again, and that this time, he physically hurt you. I’m probably going to get a call later from your principal or something, but my stepping into the situation isn’t going to fix the real problem.

Now, I don’t know too much about Tommy. I don’t know if he has a father or not, or if something happened to him recently. What I know is that all bullies pick on others to avoid drawing attention to their own weaknesses. That’s the whole nature of bullying, ironically. Maybe Tommy’s case is different, but I highly doubt that this teenager is getting any sort of genuine, “messenger of God” jollies from beating kids up.

When I was your age, I probably would have responded in the same way that I was being messed with. I didn’t win a lot of fights, but I made sure that the other guy looked worse than I did. Granted, I was a bit more violent back then, and I got sent to the principal’s office on a weekly basis. (That’s part of the reason why my knuckles are pretty messed up.)

However, as your mother would say, violence doesn’t solve anything. Even though I know you could beat the tar out of this kid, she’s right. There’s only two ways out of this, and it’s best to take the high road on this one by talking things out. You have to get to the core reason as to why Tommy is being a jerk to you, and tell him that it’s not okay. Try to solve the problem with him, not for him.

If Tommy decides that talking isn’t his route and keeps using his fists, well… I think your mom would say to turn the other cheek. You know, take the hits and be the bigger man. But I really think that if he takes a swing at you after you try to talk things through, you take your knee and give him a nice nut-sack check. I don’t care what the other kids say about not hitting other guys in the junk or some unwritten rules, but you let Tommy Hadford know that you don’t follow those rules.

I mean, you do follow rules, but obviously Tommy doesn’t, so you respond how he’ll understand you. I don’t want you to miss any more school because of this snot-nose of a kid. He shouldn’t stand in the way of your education. I know you probably don’t want to face Tommy, but you eventually have to. Things and people like Tommy Hadford are going to come in your life, and you can’t let them stop you. You have to stand up to bullies and obstacles, because if you don’t, you’ll never get anywhere. You’re letting them win, and you can’t let them win.

Face your fears, son. Remember, your mom and I love you and will always be there for you, through thick and thin.

Love,

Dad

